Money, Money, Money…

My favorite saying is, “Money isn’t everything, but it buys whatever is second!”  I stole the line, as I do with most of the things I say that are clever, from whom, I can’t remember.  I can’t seem to find out who it’s attributed to either.  I see it as a modification of the saying, “Money isn’t everything, but its way ahead of whatever is second”, which is what I used to say until I stole the other, more accurate, saying.  And I can’t seem to find out who “coined” that one either.

I’d have to say that I’ve spent the majority of my talking life discussing money in some form or another.  Think about it.  When you’re a kid and you want something it’s all about allowance or mowing lawns, or getting a job so you can buy it.  When you’re older it’s all about where you’re going to get the money to do this, or the money to do that.  It comes up at work all the time.  They say most marital arguments are about money, and I venture to speculate that at least half of the murders committed are a result of it too.  Hell, probably 90% of all crimes are perpetrated over a money motive, the rest over sex probably, maybe a small percentage by insane people.

I was just talking about money with my daughter yesterday, and spent most of this morning dealing with it, or I should say, the lack of it.  You never have enough of it, and you’re always trying to figure out where to get more of it.  Me, I’m a paycheck to paycheck guy, and have been all my life.  I have no inheritance expected down the road either.  I come from a long line of paycheck to paycheck types.  My kids are all following in my footsteps as well.

Last week, in our sales meeting, I got myself into an argument about money with my boss.  The usual argument that money isn’t the best incentive to get results.  Some, we won’t mention her name, in the meeting were actually arguing that it will only incent people to a certain extent.  Hogwash (actually I wanted to say bullshit), “Money isn’t everything, but it buys whatever is second.”  Number one motivator in the world.

 The Wharton School of the University of Pennsylvania has just completed a study to determine if, wait for it, money can make you happy.  They studied data from 140 countries.  Guess what they found?  Do you think they needed to spend money and time on a study like that?  WTF

But then, to my surprise,  most of the comments on the news story about the study, over 170 of them, were in general disagreement with the results!  The result that money, sure as shit, makes you happy, no matter where you live.  They were saying things about living in moderation, and money being the root of all evil, and other such drivel.  You know what they are?  They’re a bunch of paycheck to paycheck people who have accepted their fate.

As for me, I hear one more time that I’m lucky to have a job, and I might kill somebody.  See.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

