Green Bay, Pittsburgh and Krispy Kremes…

I couldn’t decide today whether to write about the woman with 24-inch fingernails, or the suspected rapist who stabbed himself repeatedly in the neck while he was being arrested,  or the Krispy Kreme Challenge in Raleigh, NC, which involves running two miles, scarfing down a dozen sugar-laden donuts, and running two miles back, for charity.  WTF  Those were just some of the choices.

I think I could compete in the Krispy Kreme Challenge.  I know I could eat the dozen donuts for sure.  And it’s for a good cause.  The event raised $55,000 last year for the North Carolina Children’s Hospital.  I would subject myself to getting violently sick for a children’s hospital, but I really don’t think I can run the four miles, ready to puke at any second on the way back to the finish.

So I decided not to write about any of them.  Instead, I’m going to write about the Super Bowl, again.  Dallas got some snow the other day, and one of the dangers of snow and ice, is that it melts, and as it does, slides off the roofs of domed stadiums.  People standing below could get seriously hurt.  But not to worry, they say the airports will open and the flights restored, and the rolling blackouts will abate, and all those fans used to the snow and ice, from Green Bay and Pittsburgh will be right at home.  They thought they were going to a warm climate where temperatures are usually in the 60s this time of year.  The snow is expected to be gone by game time Sunday.

My major concern at the moment is whether I think the Packers or the Steelers will have the longest touchdown.  Which team will make the first challenge?  Which team will make the longest field goal?  Whether the Packers or the Steelers will be leading in the first half.  Which team will have the first punt?  Who will have the first, first down and in which half?  Who will be the first team to have a charged time out in the second half?  Which team will commit the first penalty in each half?  If I knew any of that with any kind of certainty, I could win $500 for every dollar I bet.  All I need is to get 10 right.

I don’t think anybody really cares who wins, we just want to watch.  Last year’s Super Bowl knocked off the final episode of MASH as the most watched TV show in history.

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

