Church of the NFL

It’s Super Bowl Sunday.  The biggest day of the year for football fans and particularly for those of us that are members of The Church of the NFL.  We go to church every Sunday during the football season.  No chores get done from August to mid-February on that day.  We don’t work on Sunday, we have “NFL Ticket” and we watch “The Red Zone”.  It’s all about chips and dip, hot wings, pizza, beer and jack and coke.  And before you pass judgement, I remind you, that going to church on Sunday doesn’t make you a Christian any more than standing in a garage makes you a car.  But sitting on the couch all day Sunday watching football, makes you a football fan.

I’m rooting for the Green Bay Packers, because I hate the Pittsburgh Steelers.  It’s not very Christian to hate, but I think they’ve won enough Super Bowls over the last 45 years.  The Packers haven’t won one in a while, and Aaron Rodgers, the quarterback for the Pack, is making his first start in a Super Bowl.  The man who replaced the legend Brett Favre.  Hell, you can even bet on the number of times they will mention Brett Favre during the game.

Aaron was the 25th pick in the 2005 NFL draft.  In other words, he wasn’t highly touted as a successor to the great Brett Favre.  He sat on the bench for three years, just like I did in high school, so I immediately relate to him.  Of course, I sat on the bench because I sucked, Aaron sat on the bench and learned.  Now, in three years, he has thrown for over 12,000 yards and took a team riddled with injuries all season, and the sixth (or last) seed in the NFL,  to the big game.  He deserves to win and I hope he wins the MVP.

I’m off to take a shower and get ready for church.  There are some preparations to be made.  No Super Bowl party.  No noisy sports bar.  I’m all about watching the game.  Living in a gambling town, I have money riding on the outcome.  Serious stuff.  So we’ll pick this up again after the game….

Well, it was a good day in church.  Almost.  The Packers won.  Not too many teams can come back from 4 turnovers, three of which result in a touchdown.  Aaron Rodgers won the MVP of  Super Bowl XLV.  Something the great Brett Favre didn’t do.  But I lost my $1500 parlay card on a difference of 10 yards.  The longest field goal in the game was 33 yards.  My bet was on the Packers and the Steelers kicker did it.  Oh well, I haven’t been lucky all season.  Way to go Packers!  Sorry Shelbers.   

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

