Saving Daylight.

If I ever find the guy that came up with this idea of changing clocks back and forth, arbitrarily, twice a year, I might have to kill him, but then he’s already dead.  You know who the SOB was?  Benjamin Franklin.  Then some other guy, William Willett,  instead of just getting up earlier every morning, decided they should move the clock forward 20 minutes for three Sundays in April. WTF

How confusing would that be?  See, then we would have to reduce the clock 20 minutes for three Sundays in October to get back to “standard” time.  It takes me months to acclimate to the new “time”, so moving it 20 minutes a week for three weeks might make it easier to handle.  Could you just imagine the mass confusion that would cause though?

So its “Fall Forward and Spring Back,” or Spring Forward, Fall Back,” hell, I can never remember.  They both sound right.  It never makes any sense to me.  If I move the clock forward shouldn’t it be lighter out at 5:15 in the morning?  

I used to live in Arizona, and they never messed with Daylight Saving Time (By the way, that’s the correct spelling, not Daylight SavingS Time.).  It was one of the few things I liked about Arizona.  So why didn’t they mess with it?  Because it would still be light out at 12:30 at night if you moved the clock forward in the Summer in Arizona.  The idea is we’re saving daylight, or more aptly, moving it from the morning when the blinds are still drawn to the evening when we’re active and doing things and can use it.  In Arizona, it’s already like that.

Maybe it should be called “Better Use of Time” then, or 5:00 pm BUT, (For “but its not really”.), instead of PDT, for Pacific Daylight Time.  We’re certainly not saving anything either.  Same amount of hours in the same amount of days.  During World War II, Daylight Saving Time was year round.  They called it “War Time”.  We could do it now and call it “Common Sense Time.”

In 1973, following the Arab Oil Embargo, we increased the length of Daylight Saving Time from six months to eight months.  The idea behind this was to save oil, or more correctly to use less in April and October.  Something estimated to be 10,000 barrels a day.  I’m not sure how we do this, and it sounds a little on the high side, but its more about heating and less about driving I think.

In 2007, some genius worried about the danger to Trick or Treaters in the dark, so instead of changing the clock back in October they decided to wait until November.  Give the tykes more daylight to Trick or Treat.  What do you think they did?  They just waited until it got dark!

 So was I late this morning after having diligently turned my clocks forward on Sunday morning?  Yep.  Forgot to change back the alarm from Saturday.  I had moved it ahead two hours so I could sleep in.  This morning, I snapped awake at the same time I have for the last five months.  Just like, as they say, “clockwork”, that internal clock still highly functioning,  but this morning it was an hour later.  I think I’m finally understanding why it was still dark out though.  Maybe.

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Saving Daylight.

  1. I live in Norway. I don’t like Daylight saving time at all. Perhaps my reasons are not as ”noble”, though. I am from Brazil , where Daylight saving is translated to ”Horário de Verão” (Summer Schedule/Time). There is snow everywhere around here, it’s very cold and it feels nothing like summer yet. However, they are going to make us change the clocks on the 27th of March. I am not looking forward to it. Your articles are very interesting. I think I found your blog through a girl on battlecam and started reading it since then.

    • Your comments were very interesting. We tend to forget that Daylight Saving Time is a world event, and not just done here in the United States. Thanks for reading and I hope I keep you somewhat entertained.

  2. Pingback: Daylight Savings Time | Lizbeth's Garden

Leave a Reply

