I Can’t Even Get Two Numbers To Hit

What is it with these lottery stories from North Carolina?  In February I wrote about a North Carolina Lottery winner who waited until the literal last day to claim a MILLION DOLLAR PRIZE.  His reason:  he was afraid of the publicity, the attention.  He stashed it all over the house, in bibles, and a shoebox, and once thought he had lost it.  He waited two weeks to tell his wife, until she had a bad day, he said.  I’m sure it cheered her up. 

On July 29th the North Carolina lottery made news again, for me at least, when the THIRD member of the SAME FAMILY won the lottery.  Damn, I can’t even get two of the numbers to hit even when I buy quick picks and don’t use the ages, birth dates, and anniversaries of everyone in the family.  I do buy tickets once in a while, because you can’t argue with “You Can’t Win, If You Don’t Play.”  I used to buy them every week when I lived in Arizona.  I never won ten cents, let alone the $100,000 that Kimberly McCauley won in a scratch-off game called “10X the Money” (The Charlotte Observer Reported).  Let’s not even go there.

The last time I bought a “scratcher” ticket was on a recent road trip to New Mexico.  I bought three of them and handed them to my wife.  She’s luckier than I am, which is say, I’m not lucky at all.  Nope.  Not even a $3 prize.  Now I have to admit we’ve won a $1 prize before on a scratcher once or twice, which you should win at least 90% of the time that you play a scratcher ticket, so you can buy another scratcher ticket, which is what they want you to do, and which is what I always do.  Who wants a dollar when the card screams out to scratch off three matching symbols and win $50,000!

Kimberly’s mother, Amy, hit $160,000 in the Carolina Cash 5 in the North Carolina Education Lottery in 2007.  But her big win was $15.5 MILLION in the New York Lottery in 1991.  Amy said her mother was “hogging all the luck” so she didn’t think she would ever win anything.  So Kimberly became number two in the family to hit the lottery, and good lord I don’t think they needed the money.  Well, maybe Kimberly did, I don’t know. 

What I do know, is this doesn’t seem fair.  That the same family wins the lottery three times.  But hey, did you know that someone has won the Texas Lottery FOUR times?  Well, I didn’t either.  Yeah, Joan Ginther, set a world record for the amount and times she has won.  Talk about lucky.  Joan, 63, has won a total of $20.4 million in four different Texas Lotteries since 1963.

The only lottery I’m glad I didn’t win, although I placed pretty high, was the draft lottery in 1971.  I wish it were “in my stars” to win a lottery ticket though.  Its my only hope for retirement at this point, but I just don’t think its going to happen.  I don’t ever remember even winning a raffle, which has a lot better odds than the billions to one odds of winning a lottery.

So am I envious of lottery winners?  Yes.  Am I even more envious of multiple winners in the lottery?  Yes.  By the way, you should do a search online to see how often this multiple win thing happens.  It happens a lot.  The odds of it happening are staggering.  Like 24 trillion to one.  But, then again, that Canadian who claims to have hit the lottery 5 times is under investigation…not for fraud, but because his brother-in-law claims that he is entitled to a portion of the money.  In other words, he was part of a group that purchased the ticket.  They’re fighting over $17 million.  WTF

Oh, and that lottery ticket at the top of this post?  Notice who signed that?  George Washington, in 1768.  It was to raise money for a mountain road in Virginia.  Notice the prize is not specified.  The ticket sold at auction recently for $13,700 and there are only 25 of them still remaining in circulation.  Maybe if I can’t win the lottery, I can score a lottery ticket from 1768.

 

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “I Can’t Even Get Two Numbers To Hit

  1. You’re not the only one. I’m lucky to get one number to hit. Lord, help me if the 3rd one gets me a few dollars. I might actually buy me a car that’s not almost as old as my daughter.

    • Well I beat you then. I’ve actually had two hit. And they were one right after the other. And we were watching the drawing on the news. And the heart stopped a beat and then no other numbers came up. And I wasn’t happy in the end, but I was for a few seconds there. Thanks for stopping by and sorry it took me so long to respond. I’ve been on the road without computer access. Going through withdrawals.

      • No problem. Now that I’m here and I’ll be on errands tomorrow, I’m stopping to get me a couple of tickets. If the excitement of hitting two or even 3 numbers doesn’t kill me, I’ll let you know what happened. 🙂

Leave a Reply

