A Major Prize! A Major prize! I Won, I Won, I Won

The envelope please…And the winner of the Versatile Blogger award is…

Vanessa Chapman, a self-proclaimed “40 something year old mother of two, freelance writer and actor,” on March 13th, 2012, nominated me for the “Versatile Blogger” award.  I was all ready to thank my future literary agent, my mother and father, my wife and daughters who stood by me through it all, the Versatile Blogger Academy of Blogger Art’s & Sciences, and my dog, “Domino,” for sitting quietly by my side while I write my almost daily posts that sometimes make you say to yourself “WTFluffy.”

Then I realized that “nominated” doesn’t mean I won!  “What The Fluffy” is just another “Ghostbusters,” ” Vertigo,” ” Basic Instinct,” and “Fatal Attraction,” that were nominated for an Academy Award but didn’t win.  Just another Jonah Hill, who didn’t win an Oscar for best supporting actor, but said, as we all do, it’s just an honor to be nominated.  And it is.  But I wanted to use my Sally Fields speech, “You like me.  You really, really like me.”  Two “really’s” in that, side by side.

Vanessa wrote in her blog that I am “…an engaging and intelligent writer with great stories that make me smile.”  That is high praise indeed, and I thank you.  It’s going on the book jacket.  Check out Vanessa’s blog because she is all that as well.

Then I find out that this nomination of an award has “rules.”  In order for me to accept this award (which I haven’t won because I’ve only been nominated), I have to thank the award-giver (Okay, I’ve done that.),  Share seven things about myself, pass this along to 15 other bloggers, and then contact those chosen to let them know about the award.  Now that sounds like a lot more work that just thanking the Versatile Blogger Academy of Blogger Art’s & Sciences.  In Vanessa’s defense, when she notified me about the award, she graciously said I didn’t have to do anything but accept the award as a compliment, and I certainly do.

And wait just a minute.  This sounds like nothing more than a thinly veiled ploy to get more traffic to my blog.  Well, I’m not beneath doing that, and it actually worked to some extent.

Seven things you may or may not know about me:

1.  I can no longer bend over and touch my toes, but the good news is, I can still look straight down and see my toes without leaning forward.

2.  I consider myself addicted to ice cream.  I can’t get enough, but my favorite flavor is vanilla. I used to get a lot of flack for it when we would stop at the Jersey Creamery on the way home from school and get a milkshake.  I always got vanilla and still do…although I’m not on the way home from school anymore.  Sometimes I’ll eat “Pralines and Cream.”

3.  I’m also addicted to nicotine, so I’m smoking a cigarette as I type this.  I know.  I know.  I should quit, but quitting is too easy.  I’ve done it a thousand times.  I’m afraid to quit now because I have evidence that stopping after many years of smoking can kill you.

4.  It seems I’m too old to get a job, and too young to draw Social Security.

5.  My first computer was a “Timex Sinclair.”  If you don’t know what that is, you should Google it.  It used a cassette tape to run and store programs.  I learned Basic on it.  If you don’t know what a cassette is, Google that too.  It was hard to type on because the computer was the size of a large calculator.  I bet “Timex” wished they had stayed in the computer business.

6.  I’m almost finished building the bookshelves in my office.  I’m so proud of how they came out, I’m going to bore you with a future blog about them, and I plan to replace the header photo on my blog, of the books, with my very own books.  I’m building a bed for someone right now, and I’ve never built a bed before.  It’s starting to look like a bed though.

7.  Number six could have counted as two, but I’m not going to cheat.  A lot of people don’t see the resemblance, because I have more hair, but I Look Just Like James Taylor.

Okay, there you go, I’ve given up seven factoids about myself.

Most of the blogs that I follow have received the coveted “Freshly Pressed” designation.  That’s how I found them.  Sometimes I find them by clicking on the comments to a Freshly Pressed blog.  As you know, because I tell you a lot, I haven’t been freshly, or otherwise, pressed.  Most of the blogs I follow have so many awards flashing on them that me giving them an award might just piss them off, because almost all of them come with “conditions.”  So I’m not going to tell you 15 of my favorite blogs.  I will tell you that I follow too many and can’t keep up anymore, but there are so many good writers out there that it’s almost depressing.  At least for the moment, I intend to continue to compete with them.

On this date, last year, I wrote “STS To The ISS For The Penultimate Time.”  Since I didn’t have near as many followers as I do now, I thought I would give you the link.  Let me know what you think.  How am I doing after a year of blogging?  And, one more thing, what bloggers like more than ice-cream, in my case, is for people to comment.

I would like to take a final opportunity to thank the Versatile Blogger Academy of Blogger Arts & Sciences for nominating me for this award.

(If you don’t recognize the title of this piece, it’s from “A Christmas Story” when Mr. Parker wins the leg lamp.)

 


12 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

12 responses to “A Major Prize! A Major prize! I Won, I Won, I Won

  1. Hilarious and poignant as usual…thanks for the break and my day and I hope you WIN the award!!

  2. I knew I did right to nominate you! That was very entertaining. I must say, I too have been a little confused by the use of the word ‘nominated’ because there are no winners, only nominations. I think it’s a misuse of the word, and therefore you are in fact a winner!!!

  3. Danny Amira

    BLAH BLAH BLAH……..GET BACK TO CLARENCE

  4. Sue named Boy

    Long time reader, first time commenter.
    Actually, I’ve only read 3 since getting on this blog but in all appearances it has all the feel and warmth of a velvet Elvis painting. I enjoy it immensely and would recommend it to my mother.
    Keep up the good word

  5. LenO,
    I believe I have told you before that you should write for a living. You are really good. Have you ever tried to write for a newpaper? You could do great writing editorials.

Leave a Reply

