Outright, Overt, Blatant, Shameless, Unmitigated, Self-Promotion

DSC_0014 - Copy

I hate Christmas. Why do they do this to me?

Well, you might have noticed, if you read this blog, (or stumbled on it accidentally because you want to know who invented the light bulb), that I haven’t posted anything since August 15th, 2014.  No, I haven’t been working, at least not at any financially rewarding job.  In fact, I haven’t even had an interview since my last post.  Seems no one is interested in further investigating my qualifications for even the most inglorious job at the local home improvement centers, where I would most definitely be an asset at minimum wage.  I’m not bitter, just old (I guess), and can’t afford to retire.

On a side note, when it got chilly out, I used to wear a red thermal vest when I went to the Lowe’s to buy supplies.  That’s kind of what the store personnel wear, although it says “Lowe’s”  on it.  Mine does not.  Every time I wore that vest (I don’t anymore.), someone would invariably ask me where something was.  That really wasn’t a problem because I go there so much I know where everything is, and I started to just tell them.  Then I would get the questions:  “How should I do this?”  “Is this the right product for that?”  “Can you give me some advice on the other?”   I tried, “I don’t work here,” but that didn’t always work, so I gave out free advice.  You get what you pay for.

No, the reason I haven’t written anything since August 15th, is because September and October is craft time.  I’ve been busy building things for the upcoming shows.  We’re doing two this year.  One at the Rio Rancho Baptist Church on November 14th and 15th, and the Rio Rancho Arts and Crafts Show on November 22nd.  So if you’re in town come and see us.  And if you can’t do that, you can find LoBo Canyon Crafts on Etsy at www.lobocanyon.etsy.com  And if you go to the website, you can probably stop reading, because you’ll see most of what’s coming next in this post.

The Ping Pong Pistol

The Ping Pong Pistol

One of my new favorite toys is a ping-pong ball shooter that will launch a ping-pong ball about 20 feet.  It’s pretty harmless, although you don’t want to be real close to it when someone points it at you and pulls the trigger.

I’m also pretty proud of a toy biplane that I made with hand-painted insignia that I specifically verified for their accuracy.  The plane is just fun, although it’s probably more designed for display than vigorous play.

The biplane with authentic 1918 insignia.

The biplane with authentic 1918 insignia.

We’ve got some of our usual toy cars,

Panel Truck

Panel Truck

Whimsical Car and Trailer

Whimsical Car and Trailer

Racer

Racer

and one new invention is a paddle wheel boat which I’ve just discovered I don’t have a picture of, and it’s packed away for the show.

The Bouncy Bus

The Bouncy Bus

 

The bouncy school bus was a nightmare.  Pretty soon after I started building it, I wished I hadn’t.  It took some serious thought, but I think it turned out pretty good.   The little riders bounce along as the bus rolls.  We took the bouncy idea to a little convertible that is also just fun.

Bouncy Convertible

Bouncy Convertible

The crayon train got a makeover, and I like the way it came out.  

The Updated Crayon Train

The Updated Crayon Train

There are many more things that we put together for the shows.  I spent hours gluing ribbon on these little toy soldiers.  These clothespin dolls

Clothespin Soldiers

Clothespin Soldiers

were my wife’s idea, but since she is working, I agreed to finish them up for her.  Then there were the ribbon angels

Ribbon Angels

Ribbon Angels

and the tin trees

Tin Trees

Tin Trees

and…..I hope some of this stuff sells.

We have $3,300 in priced inventory from 244 items and we did it in two months.  Now we just have to turn some of that inventory into cash.

That’s about all of the self-promotion for now.  Check us out online and, oh,  tell your friends. 

12 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

12 responses to “Outright, Overt, Blatant, Shameless, Unmitigated, Self-Promotion

  1. Linda

    The angels are beautiful……….I love them. You are so talented. Oh who needs a lucrative, regular, 40 hour a week job when you can make crafts all day!!??!! Now that’s awesome! Can’t see you turning into an old, bitter man. That only happens when you are old….and we aren’t!!!! Never will be !!! Miss you my friend.

    • Oh, I’m afraid I just might be turning into “a bad-tempered, difficult, cantankerous person.” That’s the definition of a curmudgeon, and that’s what the girls have decided is my new name. They think it’s funny. Me, not so much. I’m considering opening a gift, resale, crafts shop here next year. I think I’ll call it “Curmudgeon’s.” Has a nice ring to it. I’ll give you a deal on those angels. Make a great package decoration in place of a bow.

  2. You are very talented! Best of luck selling your wares. I’m not into guns, but the ping pong pistol is really neat! 🙂

  3. What lovely crafts! The finishing looks so good on them. Hope they sell well, they should if there’s any justice! 🙂

    • Thanks, Vanessa-Jane. There must not be any justice though. It’s a good thing I enjoy making them, because people just don’t want to pay for them. A lot of people take pictures because they think they can make them, but they find out it’s not that easy and they never do. We’ll see how it goes, and I’m sure there is a post pending from experience at the shows.

  4. Roger B

    LenO, this is your old cubicle neighbor Roger, nice to see you up and moving around with the wood work. I will take (2) ping pong pistols, I will go to your website and order them. You do great work!

Leave a Reply

