Slippin’ And A Slidin’

gold dress 2It finally snowed.  I know, all the rest of you have been dealing with unheard of amounts of snow and cold, but last week we were in the 70s.  Yeah, that’s right, the 70s.  I was working outside like it was Spring.  I even raked leaves, bought some sprinkler line and worked on adding some landscape timbers to a garden in the back.  I knew it wasn’t going to last, I mean, come on, it’s February.

So we were in a snow watch overnight.  Not a warning, but a watch.  Maybe a one to three inch accumulation according to the local weatherman.  Sorry, “First Alert Meteorologist,” on our local channel KOAT.  They have a “Chief Meteorologist” too.  Which is exactly what we got overnight because I measured it by sight on the roof of the FJ as I brushed the snow of in preparation of driving my wife to work.  If we had been in a winter storm warning, we would have expected a dangerous amount of snow with sleet and/or freezing rain, and this is not what we got.  Points farther north and east did.

I brushed the entire car off too.  Right onto the path I had just shoveled around the car, which I had to shovel again, but now would not shovel off because I had stepped in it and there were shoe impressions, sneakers not boots, which packed the snow onto the driveway.  This later turned to ice and I almost took a dive after I got back home.  I know, I know, a lot of you have been tunneling, literally, out of your houses with two story ice cycles hanging from your roofs.  I live in the Southwest for a reason.  Winter is that reason.

We get Winter here, it’s just not that bad.  And I like it that way.  So I brushed off the car, locked the front door, and left my coffee cup on the bench on the front porch.  Minor set back that slightly upset me, but I got over it.  There had already been three reported spin-outs on the freeway before we started out.

I put the FJ in 4-wheel drive and sped off down the street slamming on the brakes before the intersection to see what kind of conditions I was dealing with.  I do that all the time just to get a feel for the road, plus it’s kind of fun and makes my wife nervous.  The car did a little slippin’ and slidin’, but nothing major, and we headed off to work.  That’s when I discovered I didn’t have the much needed coffee mug.  We got safely to work, about a 15 minute drive, and I headed back the way I had come.

I was following this little white car that was driving way to slow for the conditions, and I noticed that the back window of the car was still covered with snow.  Not even a little peek hole was brushed off so the person driving the car could see behind them.  I don’t know about you, but being able to see behind me while driving on icy streets, is kind of important.  It’s even more important if you’re driving so damn slow that cars are stacking up behind you because of it, and won’t be able to stop quickly, so you won’t even see the sum bitch that slams into you.

So I decide I need to get around this car for my own safety, and then I notice the pickup in the right lane doesn’t have its back window cleared off either.  And there’s three other cars farther in front that don’t have their back windows cleared off.  I start to think maybe they’re all using the side-view mirrors?  But then I just know they were too lazy, too late, or too ignorant to clear off the rear window.  Not to mention the fact that most newer cars, of which this car in front of me was one, has a rear defroster that if turned on would melt the inch or so of snow in a few minutes.

Take the time to brush the snow off the car.

I’m sure by now, that everyone has seen the gold and white dress that is actually blue and black.  If you haven’t, here it is.  I’m worried because I don’t see the black and blue dress.  I see the white and gold dress.  

The original image is in the middle. At left, white-balanced as if the dress is white-gold. At right, white-balanced to blue-black.

The original image is in the middle. At left, white-balanced as if the dress is white-gold. At right, white-balanced to blue-black.

Even Taylor Swift tweeted that the dress was clearly black and blue.  What do you see?  My wife sees the black and blue dress.  I just don’t see it.  The “blue-black” just looks like a “gold-white” in the shade.  I wonder if the people in cars and trucks without the snow cleared off the rear window see the dress as black and blue?

Hopefully Winter won’t be here too long. 

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Slippin’ And A Slidin’

  1. Your Favorite Niece

    I was wondering what the dress had to do with snow because that isn’t the type of dress I would want to wear in the snow. But, you did it! You managed to work in the dress to a story about snow. Bravo!

  2. Yeah, I can work anything into a story. Truth is I didn’t have any pictures of snow and it was too cold out to take any. Too lazy, too late. You didn’t tell me what color dress you see.

Leave a Reply

