HappyTowel Day

Towel DayI looked over some recent posts, and it seems like I write somehing to the effect that I figured it was about time I wrote something in each one.  Yet again, it seems like it’s about time.

For all those concerned, (and I’m sure there’s a bunch of you out there) the pool is still up and looks good, but I’m over $200 in and still don’t have the water conditioned correctly.  The water bill jumped from $39 to $105, but half of what it was last summer, logically because I had to fill the pool twice.  The wind is still been billowing at 60 mph, so I’ve only been in the pool three times.  Last night it was like floating on a motorized raft, being blown from one end of the pool to the other at breakneck speed.  I put up with that for about a half hour and when I got out the wind turned my trunks into an ice pack.  You understand, all this is happening because I put up the pool early.  I’m totally responsible for the lack of Spring.  But as I look out the window of my office this morning, not a leaf is stirring in the trees out back.  The sky is a cloudless azure, and the early morning temperature is 52 degrees.  Looks like a pool day to me.

Presidential candidate, Donald Trump, was in Albuquerque last night and the headlines, as I expected, were “Protests Turn Violent Outside Trump New Mexico Event.”  I guess there were some scuffles, catcalls and shout downs outside the event, and even inside while Trump was at the podium.  Tear gas was even used on the crowd outside.  All the more reason I don’t waste my time going to these things, and actually wonder what Donald expected to gain from coming here, a clearly Democratic hotbed, obvious in support of Hillary Clinton, which we won’t discuss.  Bernie Sanders was here the day before and received a quite different reception.  Nothing about violent protests in the headlines the following day.  Here’s my take on the 2016 election:  I will vote.  I won’t vote for Hillary.  I might write in Snoopy.  I don’t think Trump is a Facist, but I’m not clear what he is.

Boston Terriers, at least my dog, hate UPS.  I’m not sure why they revile, to the point of malicious intent, the United Parcel Service, but it could be their rates.  Maybe it’s the color of their uniforms?  Maybe it’s the sound of their trucks.  I get a lot of packages delivered by UPS because I buy a lot of things online.  I don’t like to go out and shop, and it’s incredibly easier to find what I need on Amazon.  I need anything, I search it on Amazon, and I have what I need enroute to me in hours and delivered in a few days.  I’m not offering free advertising for Amazon, per se, but it is truly amazing what you think you need and what you can find with a simple search.  WayFair is where I go for furniture.  Why would I trek around to all the furniture stores in town when I can go online, type in “television stands” and get hundreds of choices in hundreds of finishes delivered to my door, often with free shipping?

My dog knows the sound of the UPS truck.  He starts working himself into a lather the minute he hears it turn the corner down the block.  He runs from room to room, barking furiously, and when the delivery guy is on the porch, the screen door is the only thing protecting him from iminent attack.  The change in his demeanor scares me.  The delivery guy doesn’t even bother to ring the doorbell, he just pitches the box on the porch and walks hastily back to his truck.  In the rare occassions when I have to sign for something, I have to foot force the dog behind me while I slide out the door and sign on the porch, with the dog jumping, growling and barking furiously behind me.  I always tell them that his bark is worse than his bite, but I’m not altogether sure that is true.  In all honesty, he doesn’t like the mailman any better, or anyone who comes to the door for that matter.  But UPS is clearly on the top of his search and destroy list.

Today is “National Senior Health and Fitness Day.”  Since I am a “senior” maybe I should do something healthful and fitting to honor the day?  Naw.  It’s also, “National Greek Pride Day,” “National Tap Dance Day,” “National Wine Day,” and “Towel Day”… (Don’t know what the hell that is.)  Okay, here’s the Wikipedia description of Towel Day: “Towel Day is celebrated every year on 25 May as a tribute to the author Douglas Adams by his fans.[1] On this day, fans openly carry a towel with them, as described in Adams’ The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy, to demonstrate their appreciation for the books and the author. The commemoration was first held 25 May, 2001, two weeks after Adams’ death on 11 May.”  I think I’ll just celebrate “National Wine Day.”  Sounds like the best choice, because I’m not Greek and can’t tap dance.  WTF.

Update 5.26:  It drove me crazy all evening, so I changed the word “eminent” to the correct word “imminent” in the fifth paragraph.  See, I do proofread…somewhat, and word errors and misspellings drive me crazy.   

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “HappyTowel Day

  1. Tina Adamson

    I still love your stories. Keep them coming. Miss you too!!!😇

Leave a Reply

